The Harsh Impacts of DUI in Wyoming




https://onz.asia/wp-content/uploads/2022/04/the-harsh-impacts.jpg

The laws against driving under the influence (DUI) in Wyoming have always been tough. For example, Wyoming has anti-plea bargaining laws. This method that prosecutors cannot reduce or dismiss DUI charges without filing a motion in court. And in 2009, Wyoming legislated tougher DUI penalties with Senate Bill 88. Among other things, the Bill imposed penalties on people who aid drivers in disabling or defeating an ignition interlock device (IID), in addition as providing that anyone convicted of aggravated homicide while operating or driving a means will not be granted an IID-restricted license. Additionally, beginning July 1, 2010, Senate File 19 increases Wyoming’s “look-back” period from five to 10 years. This method that if you receive a second DUI conviction within 10 years of the first conviction, you will confront harsher penalties. Conversely, if your second conviction is more than 10 years after your first, the second conviction will be treated as if it were your first.

Drunk driving in Wyoming will cause a criminal case in the courts and an administrative case with the Wyoming Department of Transportation. The criminal case determines the jail time, fines and other DUI punishments you will confront, while the administrative case determines the impact to your driver’s license. The administrative case precedes the criminal case, and your driving privileges may be suspended for as little as 90 days, or revoked for as long as three years, depending on the offense. When faced with the possible of losing such a freedom, and all the ramifications that go with it, you might want to find the best drunk driving attorneys obtainable.

If you are convicted of your first DUI in Wyoming in criminal court, you can be sent to jail for up to six months, or fined up to $750, or both, and you will be required to undergo substance abuse assessment at your own expense. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .15 or above (a BAC of .08 is the legal limit), you will be required to install an IID in your means, again at your own expense. Finally, your license will be suspended for 90 days.

A second DUI offense brings a jail sentence from seven days to six months, fines from $250 to $750, the installation of an IID for one year, substance abuse assessment, and a license suspension for one year.

Your third Wyoming DUI carries a jail term from 30 days to six months, fines from $750 to $3,000, two years with an IID, substance abuse assessment, and a license suspension of three years. Other possibilities include probation, an in-patient treatment program, and/or an alcohol education program.

When is a DUI a felony in Wyoming? The fourth DUI conviction. Convicted felons lose their right to vote and to bear arms; they also are barred from holding certain jobs, and have a harder time obtaining loans. The jail time for a fourth offense is up to two years, and you can be fined up to $10,000. You will also be required to have an IID installed in your means for life, but you may apply to have it removed after five years. And who knows how long your license will be suspended. It is also possible that you will be sentenced to probation, an in-patient treatment program, a substance abuse assessment, and/or an alcohol education program. Isn’t it time you found a DUI defense attorney?




leave your comment

Top